Self-taught drummers, what was your method of learning?

Music posts are a bannable offense.
Pyrite Medal of Ignorance

Post by Pyrite Medal of Ignorance »

Think beginner, possibly with a slight learning disability (ovaries).

Long innocent story short, I met and spent like 3 days nonstop hanging out with a completely innocuous and sweet kid that made me realize just how jaded I have become, and how ridiculous my inactivity/excuses for as much are completely bogus and detrimental to my well-being...anyway...

I have several hours each day where my roommates are not home, with full access to ryan's drums. I don't know what the fuck I'm doing. I don't know what half of the shit is called. i can make somewhat LOGICAL noises, but i have no idea what i'm doing.

any tips or suggestions or links to websites would be much appreciated.
SPOILERSPOILER_SHOW
fuck off, goatus.
caldwell.the.great
San Dimas High school football rules!

Re: Self-taught drummers, what was your method of learning?

Post by caldwell.the.great »

practice. i used my ears and then i practiced.
Necrometer wrote:fucking scientists
"you can't eat a sandwich with a clenched fist."
"I wish it was programmed to feel pain....I'd like to teach Watson a lesson in street knowledge....."
http://laughtrack.wordpress.com
caldwell.the.great
San Dimas High school football rules!

Post by caldwell.the.great »

and way to use your ovaries as a crutch. goddamnit, amelia.
Necrometer wrote:fucking scientists
"you can't eat a sandwich with a clenched fist."
"I wish it was programmed to feel pain....I'd like to teach Watson a lesson in street knowledge....."
http://laughtrack.wordpress.com
necrothrash
I like to smell things.

Post by necrothrash »

So you're gonna play the drums?